What are the Slack Archives?

It’s a history of our time together in the Slack Community! There’s a ton of knowledge in here, so feel free to search through the archives for a possible answer to your question.

Because this space is not active, you won’t be able to create a new post or comment here. If you have a question or want to start a discussion about something, head over to our categories and pick one to post in! You can always refer back to a post from Slack Archives if needed; just copy the link to use it as a reference..

I am new to Spryker and have a General Question: How do we decide when to use Client, Yves, Zed, Ser

U03RJQT5AN4
U03RJQT5AN4 Posts: 9 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
edited September 2022 in Help

I am new to Spryker and have a General Question:
How do we decide when to use Client, Yves, Zed, Service, Shared etc. I understand Yves is used for frontend funcitonality of a module and Zed for Backoffice part. But Im not sure if this is correct understanding.
The first module we are making is a common Class which would be responsible for API logging(Request and Response). This class would extend Guzzle Cient and will be used to call APIs instead of guzzle client. We want this class to be used instead of default Guzzle Client to have some control over API calls.(Example logging the calls) Where shall we keep the Class? IMO it should be in a client. How do we decide the best approach and folder.

Comments

• Alberto Reyer
    Alberto Reyer Posts: 690 🪐 - Explorer

Shared: Information that will be used in the context of Zed, Yves and Glue, especially transfer definitions and constants

Zed: Backoffice functionality and all business logic

Yves: No logic, only rendering of data that is retrieved from Storage (Redis), Search (Elasticsearch) or Zed (through Gateway Controllers)

Client: Retrieve data from Storage, Search or from Zed (using the Zed Stub)

Service: Wrapped Libraries and general functionalities that are reused in Zed, Yves and Glue